FA Trophy Preliminary Round Replay: Redhill 1 Brentwood Town 2

Posted on Updated on

Brentwood Town will now face Biggeswade Town at home in the FA Trophy after a feisty 2-1 away victory in the replay against Redhill.

Sherwin Stanley grabbed a brace for ‘The Blues’ with one in each half which cancelled out a Joe Bingham header to put Brentwood into the first qualifying round.

The first opportunity of the game came just after the half hour mark for Redhill as a ball curled in to the edge of the box for O’Flaherty which shot was over.

Brentwood had their first opportunity minutes later as Bantick found Stanley whose left footed shot was saved by Hunter.

‘The Blues’ made a great move almost count as Rees fed in Stanley who let it run for Lomotey and his shot went narrowly over the bar.

The away side had a corner taken by Rees which was met by Stanley and headed just over the bar.

As the break approached Rees’s whipped in corner found Lomotey which he volleyed over from the six yard box.

In added time Brentwood grabbed the lead as a throw in fell to Lomotey who knocked the ball to an unmarked Stanley to knock it in the bottom corner.

Redhill equalised five minutes into the second half as O’Flaherty’s free-kick was drifted into the far post and headed back across goal and in by Joe Bingham.

Brentwood regained the lead two minutes later as Bantick’s long ball over the defence for Stanley to slot past hunter.

Redhill hit the post 67 minutes in as Mcardle’s free-kick rattled off the left post and cleared away by Brentwood.

Joslin almost extended Brentwood’s lead as he slotted in Bantick who beat the offside trap but could not beat Hunter as he blocked it with his body.

Bantick could have sealed the game four minutes to go as Mbulu put him in but his shot went wide.

In injury time Joslin was given a second yellow and sent on his way which had Brentwood’s backs to the wall but saw out the four minutes of added time.

Brentwood Town Lineup: 1 Ollie Bowles, 2 Chrisitan Mbulu, 3 Louis Baucutt, 4 Martyn Stokes ©, 5 Ryan O’Rawe, 6 Andy Joslin, 7 Sam Bantick, 8 Danny Dafner, 9 Sherwin Stanley (82), 10 Yeshaya Lomotey (56), 11 Robbie Rees (88)

Substitutes: 12 Jack Gardner, 14 Jason Dobbs (88), 15 Adam Rooke, 16 Owen Kabodi (82), 17 Shad Ngandu (56)

Redhill Lineup: 1 Micheal Hunter, 2 Joe Goldsmith, 3 Rob Hill (82), 4 Scott Harris, 5 Bradley Duke, 6 Jack Hope, 7 Chris O’Flaherty (71), 8 Tom Howard-Bold, 9 Javlon Campbell, 10 Fiachra Mcardle, 11 Joe Bingham (64)

Substitutes: 12 John Difford, 14 George Cousins (71), 15 Tyrone Pink (64), 16 Brendan Owusu-Ansah, 17 Leyton Regan (82)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s