Robert Dyas Cup: Billericay Town 2 Brentwood Town 1

Posted on Updated on


Billericay Town will progress to the third round of the Robert Dyas Cup with a hard fought 2-1 victory over local rivals Brentwood Town.

A Rowan Liburd header gave Billericay an early second half goal to lead, Brentwood responded with a quick fire equaliser through Sam bantick but Richard Halle strike was enough to progress the home side.

Billericay Town had an early strike only three minutes in as Poole lashed his shot straight at Bowles from a cleared corner which he held on to.

The home side had the ball in the net 27 minutes in which was disallowed for an infringement on Bowles as he was bundled into the goal.

Billericay took the lead three minutes into the second half as Poole whipped in ball found Rowan Liburd at the back post to head in.

Brentwood replied two minutes later as a long high lofted ball towards the far post from Bantick went straight in to equalise for ‘The Blues’.

The host regained the lead ten minutes later as Captain Halle picked up the ball on the edge of the box and rifled a superb strike into the bottom right corner for his 11th of the season.

A Bantick free-kick on the edge of the box beat the wall but went just narrowly wide of the bottom corner.

Jack Edwards almost sealed it three minutes from time as the ball was given on a plate inside the box but his half volley went wide of the target.

In injury time Liburd was through on goal for Billericay and as he was about to pull the trigger, a risky last ditch sliding tackle came from Danny Dafter which stopped Liburd from his second.

Brentwood Town Lineup: 1 Ollie Bowles, 2 James Love (79), 3 Andy Freeman, 4 Chrisitian Mbulu, 5 Danny Dafter, 6 Adam Rooke, 7 Shad Ngandu, 8 Robbie Rees, 9 Sam Bantick, 10 Daniel Aldwinckle (68), 11 Yeshaya Lomotey (82)

Substitutes: 12 Connor Hogan (68), 14 Tommy Oliver (79), 15 Junior Ibeawuchi (82)

Billericay Town Lineup: 1 Billy Lumley, 2 Stevie Sheehan, 3 Glenn O’hanlon, 4 Jack Edwards, 5 Richard Halle, 6 Ryan Scott (70), 7 Gerald Akosa, 8 Glenn Poole, 9 Afalobi Obafemi (73), 10 Rowan Liburd, 11 Roman Micheal-Percil (73)

Substitutes: 14 Ricky Sappleton (73), 15 Harry Baker (73), 16 Cyrus Mahler (70)

Attendance: 108

<a href="https://


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s