Month: May 2015

Ryman League North Play-off Final: Brentwood Town 5 Thurrock 0

Posted on Updated on

Brentwood Town are promoted to the Ryman Premier for the first time in their recent history after an emphatic 5-0 victory in the Ryman League North play-off final over 10-man Thurrock at the Brentwood Arena.

Alex Akrofi grabbed his first non-league hat-trick of his career to send Brentwood on their way to promotion, along with goals from Robbie Rees and Sherwin Stanley.

Joint-manager Danny Dafter capped off his final match for Brentwood with one of the highlights of his career in front of 763 fans, Brentwood’s biggest competitive attendance.

Brentwood had a half chance 10 minutes in as a whipped in corner by Sam Bantick had to be palmed away by Rhys Madden for Thurrock with pressure from Tom Richardson.

Ross Wall peeled off deep and chipped the ball for Jordan Clark as Martyn Stokes slipped but his shot was tame.

‘The Blues’ had a great chance 22 minutes in after a bursting run from Robbie Rees to the edge of the box cut the ball across the outside of the box for Bantick to slice his shot just wide.

The home side created an opportunity from a goal kick as it was flicked on and Akrofi made something from nothing as he hit the side netting from a tight angle.

Sloppy defending by Thurrock allowed Bantick to pounce, dart passed a couple of players but struck a tame shot which went just wide from the edge of the box.

Thurrock almost caught Brentwood unaware as a whipped in ball was flicked goalwards by Lewwis Spence but went just over the bar.

‘The Fleet’ had an opportunity just before the break as Steve Carvel was slotted in but just as he was about to pull the trigger was tackled by a great last ditch defending by Jack Gardner.

Brentwood took the lead five minutes into the second half, as Bantick lifted the ball over the defence for Akrofi with his blistering pace to fire passed Madden, to give the hosts an all-important lead.

‘The Blues’ extended their lead nine minutes later, with a similar second goal as Bantick’s ball over the top was chased down by Akrofi his first shot was saved but tapped in the rebound into an empty net.

Shortly after the restart Clark was in on goal but fell over Bowles as the referee gave a yellow for simulation.

Akrofi was brought down for Brentwood 62 minutes in, as he hunted another ball down over the defence after getting goal side of Aaron Waters. He was sent to the stands for being the last man and Akrofi stepped up and tucked away the penalty from the spot to claim the match ball.

Brentwood extended their lead further as Rees dribbled to the edge of the box and bent a shot into the bottom, with Madden motionless.

Thurrock tried to grab a goal back as Wall’s shot on the turn was expertly saved by Bowles to maintain his clean sheet.

Brentwood grabbed a fifth as substitute Sherwin Stanley beat the offside trap and coolly slotted it passed Madden, to spark the celebrations.

Brentwood Town Lineup: Ollie Bowles, Jack Gardner, Andrew Freeman, Martyn Stokes ©, Ryan O’Rawe, James Love, Sam Bantick, Danny Dafter, Alex Akrofi (79), Tom Richardson (45), Robbie Rees (67)

Substitutes: Louis Baucutt (79), Jason Dobbs (45), Sam Cole, Christian Mbulu, Sherwin Stanley (67)

Thurrock Lineup: Rhys Madden, Gareth Madden, Lewis Clark, Aaron Waters, Remi Sutton, James Goode, Steven Carvell (67), Lewwis Spence, Joe Christou, Ross Wall, Jordan Clark (69)

Substitutes: Brad Warner (67), Robert Clark (69), Lee Rome, Leon Smith, Jordan Warren

Attendance: 763


Speedway Elite League: Lakeside Vortex Hammers 42 Coventry Bees 47

Posted on Updated on

The Lakeside Vortex Hammers suffer a second straight defeat after a hard fought meeting as they lost 42-47 against The Coventry Bees at Arena Essex.

‘The Hammers’ had once again gave away a four point lead with two races remaining, failing to hold on after two reverse maximums to the league leaders as they took three away points back to the midlands.

Lakeside still had riders out injured, as Wolves number one rider Fredrik Lindgren guested in place of Andreas Jonsson – Marc Owen made his first hammers debut in for Steve Boxall.

The home side had a dream start with a 5-1 maximum as Kim Nilsson sped to victory and supported by guest Lindgren.

Coventry found their feet in the reserve race as Jason Garrity won with Adam Ellis in second. Daryl Ritchings tool third to take a 4-2 reverse.

Edward Kennett burst out the blocks in heat three to victory with the quickest time of the night. Mikkel Bech looked to have secured third but overcooked the last bend to allow Joonas Kylmakorpi through, for a split heat.

Last season’s Hammer regular Daniel King had a superb heat four win, as he passed both Richard Lawson and Adam Ellis on lap one at the third bend but ‘The Hammers’ held an even heat.

Nilsson grabbed his second race victory as Stuart Robson followed closely behind for ‘The Bees’ for a third split heat, as Lakeside held a slender lead 16-14.

Lawson won heat six after gating first, Lakeside were on for a maximum but on lap two Hans Anderson took advantage of an opportunity to pass Bech off lap three bend four, to settle for a 4-2 and extend their lead to four points.

Coventry reversed the previous race as King claimed his second victory after a great battle with Kennett, as Kylmakorpi grabbed third.

Heat eight was a second race win for Lawson as both sides split the race, with the scores at 25-23.

The visitors’ were level after the next heat as Garrity got his double race victory with King in third to take a 4-2 heat win.

Kennett had a gutsy ride in heat 10 as he came from third after the first bend to overtake Robson and then Anderson on lap 3 to snatch a split heat.

‘The Hammers’ replicated the first heat with a second maximum through Nilsson’s victory followed by Lindgren in second, to open up a four point lead at 38-34.

The second reserve race was tense, as Garrity won his second race of the night. Adam Ellis came second and Owen claimed a crucial point in third to maintain their four point lead.

Kennett made it a hat-trick of wins in heat 13 but Chris Harris and Andersen kept out Lindgren for a seventh split heat.

Bech was excluded in race 14 for crashing and in the re-run Lawson gated first and lead for two laps until his engine blew, which gave Coventry a 5-0 heat and one point advantage into the final race.

In the final nominated heat Kennett burst to the first bend but was edged out just by King. The Coventry pairing of Harris and King held off ‘The Hammers’ to take three away points and maintain top spot.

Heat Results

Heat 01: Nilsson, Lindgren, Robson, Andersen 58.7 – 5-1
Heat 02: Garrity, Ellis, Ritchings, Owen 58.9 – 2-4; 7-5
Heat 03: Kennett, Kylmakorpi, Harris, Bech 58.5 – 3-3; 10-8
Heat 04: King, Lawson, Ellis, Ritchings 59.3 – 3-3; 13-11
Heat 05: Nilsson, Robson, Garrity, Ellis 58.8 – 3-3; 16-14
Heat 06: Lawson, Harris, Bech, Andersen 59.0 – 4-2; 20-16
Heat 07: King, Kennett, Kylmakorpi, Lindgren 59.1 – 2-4; 22-20
Heat 08: Lawson, Robson, Garrity, Owen 59.3 – 3-3; 25-23
Heat 09: Garrity, Nilsson, King, Ellis 59.2 – 2-4; 27-27
Heat 10: Kennett, Andersen, Robson, Bech 58.9 – 3-3; 30-30
Heat 11: Nilsson, Lindgren, Kylmakorpi, Harris 59.1 – 5-1; 35-31
Heat 12: Garrity, Ellis, Owen, Ritchings (R) 59.9 – 3-3; 38-34
Heat 13: Kennett, Harris, Andersen, Lindgren 58.6 – 3-3; 41-37
Heat 14: King, Kylmakporpi, Lawson (R), Bech (FX) 60.8 – 0-5; 41-42
Heat 15: King, Harris, Lindgren, Kennett 59.1 – 1-5; 42-47